Concerts & Events

Saturday, October 7, 2017  ♦  7:00 PM & 9:30 PM

Sunday, October 8, 2017  ♦  1:00 PM

Chicago Podcast Festival

featuring Kelly Leonard – Second City Works: Getting to Yes, And…,Nick Digilio On Demand, The Mincing Rascals, Guth and Huppke on Politics, Sound Sessions, Jen Wiegel's I'm Spiritual Dammit, Wildclaw Theatre Presents: An Afternoon of Deathscribe

4545 N Lincoln Ave · The Myron R. Szold Music & Dance Hall · 773.728.6000

  • SATURDAY, OCTOBER 7, 7:00 PM
    Kelly Leonard - Second City Works: Getting To Yes, And…

    “Getting to Yes, And” features interviews with visionaries, authors and leaders who operate at the intersection of creativity and commerce. Inaugural guests include Neil Stevenson, Managing Director of IDEO Chicago; cognitive psychologist Scott Barry Kaufman who authored the book “Wired to Create;” and Dartmouth scholar Sydney Finkelstein, author of “Superbosses.”

    WGN Radio VP of Programming Todd Manley said, “Most conversations about business and innovation are overloaded with talking points, but Kelly has a charm that unleashes the magic within inventive minds.”

    About the Host: Kelly Leonard

    Kelly Leonard has worked in a variety of creative and leadership positions at The Second City for nearly 30 years, He is the co-author of “Yes, And,” a celebrated book that looks at the power of improvisation to help transform both businesses and individuals. Over the years he has produced Second City revues with casts that included Tina Fey, Stephen Colbert, Amy Poehler, Keegan Michael Key, Seth Meyers and Steve Carell; and he has brokered deals with Norwegian Cruise Line, Yoshimoto Kogyo of Japan and The Kennedy Center.

    Nick Digilio

    Nick Digilio began reviewing movies on The Roy Leonard Show in 1985. He started as “the guy who likes bad movies” (reviewing Critters, Friday the 13th: A New Beginning, and the like). He studied at Columbia College and Roy saw him at a few screenings, talked to him and decided he'd be a good addition to his show. Eventually Nick became Roy's co-host on his Saturday morning movie review segment. Since the late '80s, Nick has been a guy who gave an alternate opinion and sometimes a controversial view to the films and plays released. Soon, Nick became a staple on Roy's show and Steve King & Johnnie Putman's show as well as a guest on several WGN Radio programs. Now he hosts his own program where he talks about pop culture, current events, hot topics…and of course, reviews the new films.

    Nick grew up about five blocks away from Wrigley Field, is a die-hard Cubs fan and wishes the Cubs would vote Micky Morandini the best Cub ever! His interests include everything from plays (which he writes, directs and appears in), to music and books.

    The Mincing Rascals

    The Mincing Rascals are John Williams, Steve Bertrand, Eric Zorn and a crew of journalists, writers, wise guys and wise gals. During each show they take on the latest news topics lending their expertise and wit.

    SATURDAY, OCTOBER 7, 9:30 PM
    featuring Guth and Huppke on Politics, Sound Sessions, Jen Wiegel's I'm Spiritual Dammit

    Guth and Huppke on Politics

    The weekly political podcast by Chicago Tribune columnist Rex Huppke and WGN Radio's Amy Guth. Guth and Huppke sort out all that's happening in American politics, make fun of it where appropriate and search for some form of sanity.

    About Amy Guth

    Amy Guth is an American radio host, writer and author, and former publisher of Chicago Tribune daily publication, RedEye. In 2014, media critic Robert Feder named her among the top ten most powerful women in Chicago media.

    About Rex Huppke

    In the tradition of Mike Royko, Chicago Tribune columnist Rex Huppke puts his wry spin on today's social trends, pop-culture misfires and political blowhards, providing your readers with that rare combination of laughs and nod-along moments. Huppke draws in readers of all ages with his weekly columns, which provide hysterical common-sense observations that just happen to illustrate the hypocrisy and absurdity of his subjects.

    Sound Sessions

    Music Journalist and Radio Host, Michael Heidemann talking ALL things music. Long form Interviews with all your favorite bands. Concert/Festival/Album Reviews & All the best new music you should be listening to!

    Jen Wiegel - I'm Spiritual Dammit

    A podcast on WGN radio including interviews for the spiritually curious. Jen sits down with some of the greatest minds in spirituality - from nationally known mediums to insightful authors who have had experience with the other side. Also, the title of Jen's second book, a spiritual memoir of how to climb the mountain of enlightenment with your pumps in one hand and your martini in the other.

    About Jenniffer Wiegel

    Jenniffer is an award winning broadcast journalist based in Chicago. She won an Emmy for her on-camera reporting for CBS and has also worked for ABC, NBC, WGN (TV and radio) and WLS (radio.) After her father died of a brain tumor, she decided life was too short to shiver on an overpass reporting, “It's cold outside. Back to you.” She started her own production company and hosted the Emmy nominated food and wine show called “Taste” which aired on NBC – Chicago for two years.

    Jen also worked as a reporter and columnist (“Lessons for Life”) for the Chicago Tribune from 2010 to 2015, where she covered business innovation, the “Remarkable Woman” beat, lifestyles, travel, and food. She also helped launch the Tribune's video department.

    Her real love is adding humor to life's tragedies through her writing. She's written four books: “Stay Tuned”,“I'm Spiritual, Dammit!” “This Isn't the Life I Ordered” and “Psychics, Healers and Mediums. A Journalist, a Road Trip and Voice from the Other Side.” They are all listed under the books tab on this website. Her audio books can be found on the audio books link of this website.

    Jen hosts “Conversations with Weigel: A Live Series Exploring Spiritual Enlightenment,” at the Wilmette Theatre, where she interviews authors and gurus from across the country once a month. Her podcast “I'm Spiritual, Dammit!” is on WGN-Plus and can be heard here.

    She is available for media coaching, event hosting, comedy and public speaking, and now runs Weigel Productions, which creates videos and TV shows.

    Jenniffer (yes, there are two f's because her mom tried to be original) is also a fan of visiting book clubs. If you're interested in having her come to your living room (and don't mind her drinking some of your wine) send her an email: info@jenweigel.com

    SUNDAY, OCTOBER 8, 1:00 PM
    Wildclaw Theatre Presents: An Afternoon of Deathscribe

    In their continued quest to acquire original, imaginative horror stories, WildClaw Theatre sends out a call once a year for 10 minute radio horror plays from around the world, chooses their favorite five and performs them for a live audience and a panel of celebrity judges for a shot at the coveted Bloody Axe award in the infamous evening called DEATHSCRIBE. Celebrating their 10th Anniversary bringing Deathscribe to Chicago, WildClaw Theatre has picked two of their favorite tales of terror from Deathscribes past and will perform every bump, thump, creak and scream courtesy of some of Chicago's finest performers and WildClaw's signature LIVE FOLEY for a frightful afternoon at the Old Town School of Folk Music, that harkens to days of LIGHTS OUT and SUSPENSE.

    http://www.wildclawtheatre.com/

The Old Town School of Folk Music, Inc.
4544 N. Lincoln Avenue, Chicago IL 60625  •  773.728.6000